Lotus Chinese Medical Services Are Spamming Scum

Bookmark and Share
| 4 Comments
Over the past few days a Coleraine based company, Lotus Chinese Medical Services, have been systematically spamming a LOT of Irish companies. While spam may be annoying and I'm no stranger to it, what makes this spam a little different and more annoying is the payload. The idiots are sending out a rather large PDF attachment with each and every email! The file is about 2 megabytes in size, so with encoding etc., it can put quite a "nice" strain on your DSL line. Imagine a sales@ or info@ address that sends the same email to multiple people in an office. You end up with the same stupid mail being downloaded by ten or twenty people at once. End result being that your office network gets really really slow as a result. So what can you do? Report them to their ISP AOL and spamcop and anyone else who cares to listen. I've already reported them to AOL and spamcop a couple of times this week, as they keep hitting my personal domains one by one, which suggests that they've built themselves a "nice" little database of Irish domains. Unfortunately they don't have a website, so you can't get that taken down or blacklisted in a URI blacklist, which is a pity, but you can ring them and yell at them :) Another option would be to report them to the data privacy commissioner. While this may not offer much protection for businesses they've also been hitting personal email addresses (including the one tied to this site). Of course as they are not actually based within the republic that may not help. Anyone with suggestions let me know
  • Currently 0/5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Rating: 0 /5( 0 votes cast)

latest funny tshirts

4 Comments

They've just done another run. Same moronic method (include everyone in the to: header), but they are now sending from spoofed mail addresses.

Really annoying.

Richard

Could you let me have a look at the headers?

Shove them on pastebin or wherever

M

I am getting hit by our very own boys in the US. These morons are trying to promote a stock brokerage site and sending emails using our domain name.

The emails all appear to be sent from xyzdghse@inforouter.com or a variation of something like this. With most people doing reverse DNS lookups, these emails end up getting sent back. Guess what?, they all end up in my mailbox. As the catch-all mail account holder, I have to deal with this.

What is the best way to tackle things like this?

I'd disable the catchall. You probably don't really need it.

OpenID accepted here Learn more about OpenID
Powered by Movable Type 4.34-en
Get a personal domain - get a .me!
TwitterCounter for @mneylon

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Michele Neylon published on March 10, 2007 3:02 PM.

OpenWRT was the previous entry in this blog.

OpenWRT - Followup - Improved Latency / Ping is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Recent Activity

Today